## MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF ELECTIONS IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK HELD ON TUESDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2021 AT 1:30 P.M. 42 BROADWAY, 6<sup>th</sup> FLOOR, COMMISSIONERS' HEARING ROOM NEW YORK, NY 10004

PRESENT: President Frederic M. Umane

Secretary Rodney L. Pepe-Souvenir

Commissioners Michael J. Coppotelli, Jenny Low, Gino A. Marmorato, Simon Shamoun, Keith Sullivan

Michael J. Ryan, Executive Director
Dawn Sandow, Deputy Executive Director
Georgea Kontzamanis, Operations Manager
Wilma Brown Phillips, Administrative Manager
Hemalee J. Patel, General Counsel
Raphael Savino, Deputy General Counsel
Kenneth Moltner, Counsel to the Commissioners
Steven B. Denkberg, Counsel to the Commissioners

President Umane called the meeting to order at 1:42 P.M.

Mr. Ryan welcomed the newly appointed Queens Republican Commissioner Keith Sullivan to the Board.

President Umane moved to adopt the December 7, 2021 Commissioners' Meeting Minutes. Secretary Pepe-Souvenir seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

President Umane moved to convene an Executive Session for personnel matters. Commissioner Coppotelli seconded the motion, with Commissioners Araujo and Sullivan abstaining. The motion was adopted.

Mr. Ryan announced that Assembly Member Robert Rodriguez, 68<sup>th</sup> Assembly District in New York County, has been appointed by the Governor as Secretary of State and has resigned. The Governor issued a Proclamation for a Special Election in the 68th AD in New York County for January 18, 2022. Early Voting will run from January 8, 2022 through January 16, 2022. The deadline to file a Certificate of Acceptance or Declination of Nomination is December 21, The last day to file petitions is December 21, 2022. 2022. Mr. Rvan recommended for the Commissioners designate Commissioners' to Subcommittee in the event there are hearings. President Umane and Commissioner Low were designated as the Commissioners Subcommittee. Secretary Pepe-Souvenir and Commissioner Marmorato were designated as the back-up members.

President Umane moved to convene an Executive Session for personnel.

Secretary Pepe-Souvenir seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Following Executive Session, the open meeting resumed.

The following action was taken by the unanimous decision of the Board of Commissioners:

I. Phillip Kebreau, a Voting Machine Technician, was granted 105 hours of an advance of sick time. The grant is effective December 9, 2021.Mr. Kebreau's agency start date is July 17, 2021.

The meeting was adjourned.

The next stated meeting of the Commissioners is scheduled for Tuesday, January 11, 2022 at 1:30 P.M.