MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF ELECTIONS IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK HELD ON TUESDAY, DECEMBER 17, 2019 AT 1:30 P.M. 42 BROADWAY, 6th FLOOR, COMMISSIONERS' HEARING ROOM NEW YORK, NY 10004

PRESENT: President John Wm. Zaccone

Secretary Patricia Anne Taylor

Commissioners Jose Araujo, Miguelina Camilo, John Flateau, Michael Michel, Frederic M. Umane

Michael J. Ryan, Executive Director

Dawn Sandow, Deputy Executive Director

Pamela Perkins, Administrative Manager

Steven H. Richman, General Counsel

Raphael Savino, Deputy General Counsel

Valerie Vazguez, Director, Communications and Public Affairs

Steven Guglielmi, Director, Personnel

Sherwin Suss, Agency Chief Contracting Officer, Procurement

Kenneth Moltner, Counsel to the Commissioners

Steven B. Denkberg, Counsel to the Commissioners

GUEST: Luis Perein, District 10 P.S. 207

Maryann Locicero, James Madison HS PTA

Kenneth Zapata, I.S. 75 Nicole Migliove, City Hall Jeff Yates, Wagner 167 Sarenne Sutton, P.S. 116

Erica Silverman, P.S. 116

Juan M. Remit, NY1

Robert Stepanek, BOE Trainer

Kate Doran, LWV Gregory Bower, DOE Jaden Glasford, NY1

Katharine Loving, NYC Campaign Finance Board

Kate Doran, LWV NYC

President Zaccone called the meeting to order at 1:48 P.M.

Commissioner Umane moved to table the minutes for the November 26, 2019 meeting due to an insufficient number of Commissioners present to vote. The motion was seconded, and unanimously adopted.

Commissioner Araujo moved to adopt the minutes for the December 3, 2019 meeting. Commissioner Michel seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Mr. Ryan reported on the New York State Board of Elections NYSVoter Audit of the City Board. The Board was fully in compliance with the NYSVoter Audit Checklist requirements.

Mr. Ryan reported on the List Maintenance Procedures. Executive Management previously circulated the Draft Procedures to the Commissioners for review. Mr. Ryan requested approval to include the

List Maintenance Procedures for the Comprehensive Remedial Plan submission mandated by the Consent Decree in U.S. District Court. In response to Commissioner Umane, Mr. Ryan reported that the Office of the General Counsel has reviewed the Draft List Maintenance Procedures. Mr. Richman reported that the substance is correct and only non-substantive grammatical edits are needed before submission. Commissioner Umane moved approve the List Maintenance Procedures as submitted and to authorize staff to make any necessary non-substantive technical changes. Commissioner Flateau seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Mr. Ryan requested to add the Commissioners' Finance Committee Report on the agenda and an Executive Session for personnel and litigation. President Zaccone added the two (2) items to the agenda.

Mr. Suss and Mr. Ryan reported on the Commissioners' Finance Committee Report. The Commissioners' Finance Committee met and unanimously recommended the following contracts for full Board approval:

 BOE Media Campaign – This is a multi-faceted ad campaign scheduled to start on January 12, 2020 through April 29, 2020.
 Ads will appear subways, bus shelters, convenience stores, digital links and television. Commissioner Umane noted that Ms. Vazquez will report to the full Board on the television channels for approval before proceeding with that campaign. The total not to exceed cost for this program is \$1,900,000;

- Ready Data Inc. This contract is to provide several types of Tripp Lite Batteries to be used with agency voting equipment.
 This is a three (3) year contract and not to exceed \$846,542;
- <u>United Professionals Inc.</u> This contract is to provide translators to supplement the Phone Bank prior to election events and when needed by the agency. This is a four (4) year contract and not to exceed \$680,000.

Commissioner Flateau moved to approve the Commissioners' Finance Committee Report as presented. Commissioner Umane seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

President Zaccone recognized the following speakers for public comment:

- 1. Maryanne Locicero;
- 2. Kenneth Zapata;
- 3. Laura Wood;
- 4. Luis Pereiu;

- 5. Erica Rand Silverman;
- 6. Syrene Sutton;
- 7. Robert Stapanek; and
- 8. Jeff Yates.

In response to the public speakers, President Zaccone reminded for any recommendations or concerns about Early Voting to be submitted through the public feedback email address posted on the Board's website. The public comment period closes today. President Zaccone reported that Board staff will review all recommendations and concerns when planning for Early Voting.

Commissioner Umane moved to convene an Executive Session for personnel and litigation matters. President Zaccone seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Following Executive Session, the open public meeting resumed.

President Zaccone reported that potential litigation and personnel matters were discussed. The personnel actions will be reported in the minutes.

The following personnel actions were taken by unanimous decision of the Board of Commissioners in Executive Session:

- I. Reginald Starke, a Senior Voting Machine Technician, was granted 70 hours of an Advance of Time. The grant will be effective December 9, 2019. Mr. Starke's agency start date is July 14, 2002;
- II. Damian Pomales, a Voting Machine Technician, was granted 21 hours of an Advance of Time. The grant will be effective December 24, 2019. Mr. Pomales' agency start date is July 15, 2011;
- III. Ralph Morales, an Associate Staff Analyst, was granted 210 hours of an Advance of Time. The grant will be effective December 23, 2019. Mr. Morales' agency start date is March 13, 2011; and;
- IV. Rachel Knipel-Thompson, an Associate Staff Analyst, was granted 210 hours of an Advance of Time. The grant will be effective December 18, 2019. Ms. Knipel-Thompson's agency start date is April 6, 2009.

President Zaccone wished all a happy holiday season.

The next stated meeting of the Commissioners is scheduled for Tuesday, January 14, 2020 at 1:30 P.M.

Commissioner Umane moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Araujo seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.