MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF ELECTIONS IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK HELD ON TUESDAY, DECEMBER 11, 2018 AT 1:30 P.M. 42 BROADWAY, 6th FLOOR, COMMISSIONERS' HEARING ROOM NEW YORK, NY 10004

PRESENT: President Rosanna Vargas

Secretary John Wm. Zaccone

Commissioners Jose Araujo, John Flateau, Maria R. Guastella, Alan Schulkin, Robert Siano

Michael J. Ryan, Executive Director

Dawn Sandow, Deputy Executive Director

Pamela Perkins, Administrative Manager

Georgea Kontzamanis, Operations Manager

Steven H. Richman, General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel

Raphael Savino, Deputy General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel

Valerie Vazquez, Director, Communications & Public Affairs

Steven Guglielmi, Director, Personnel

Kenneth Moltner, Counsel to the Commissioners

Steven B. Denkberg, Counsel to the Commissioners

GUEST: Theo Chino

Courtney Gross, NY1 Kiersten Hileman, NY1 Abigail Goldberg, NY1 Wendy Byrne, LWV NYC

Katharine Loving, NYC Campaign Finance Board

Kati Garrity, NYC CFB

Kate Doran, LWV

Diana Finch, Poll Worker

Alan Flacks, Member of NY County Democratic Committee

President Vargas called the meeting to order at 1:45 P.M.

Commissioner Siano moved to adopt the minutes for the December 3, 2018 meeting. Secretary Zaccone seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Mr. Richman presented the Revised Draft Independent Nominating Petition Rules for the Special Election for the New York City Public Advocate. The Mayor must call an election within three (3) days of the occurrence of the vacancy which will occur on January 1, 2019. Copies of the Draft Petition Rules were circulated to the Commissioners for review. Mr. Denkberg recommended incorporating the Statement of Commissioners on Page 40 into the body of the text for Rule H1 on Page 24. Mr. Richman requested adoption of the Draft Petition Rules as amended. Commissioner Araujo moved to table the Draft Independent Nominating Petition Rules as amended for one (1) week. The motion was seconded, and unanimously adopted. Mr. Richman will email the Amended Revised Draft Petition Rules to the Commissioners.

Secretary Zaccone moved to designate a Commissioners' Committee, consisting of an equal number of Democrats and Republicans, to hold next week's meeting in case there is no quorum due to the holidays.

Commissioner Guastella seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

President Vargas moved to convene an Executive Session for personnel and litigation matters. Secretary Zaccone seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Following Executive Session, the open public meeting resumed.

President Vargas recognized Diana Finch, a poll worker, who provided feedback about her work experience during the November 6, 2018 General Election.

President Vargas recognized Kate Doran, a representative of the League of Women Voters, who inquired about the status of the Board's comprehensive plan that was mentioned at the previous meeting.

President Vargas recognized Alan Flacks, a member of the public, who commended the poll worker's feedback and provided information about a Manhattan District Leader.

- Mr. Ryan reported the following actions that were taken in Executive Session:
 - The Commissioners granted 210 hours Discretionary Advance of Time to Mark Gennetti, a Voting Machine Technician in the Manhattan Voting Machine Facility, effective December 17, 2018. Mr. Gennetti's agency start date is October 16, 1985;
 - II. Carlos Rodriguez will be appointed to the position of Chief Voting Machine Technician immediately upon the effective date of John O'Grady's retirement;
 - III. The Commissioners granted 210 hours Discretionary Advance of Time to Cynthia Pyne, a Clerk in the Queens Office, retroactive to December 6, 2018. Ms. Pyne's agency start date is March 2, 1997. The grant is subject to re-evaluation with appropriate documentation upon expiration of the 210 hours;
 - IV. After consultation with the Board of Commissioners, Mr. Ryan is stepping down from the informal ES&S Advisory Board Committee, effective immediately.

President Vargas moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded, and unanimously adopted.

The next stated meeting of the Commissioners will be held on Tuesday, December 18, 2018 at 1:30 P.M.