Approved # 3180

## MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF ELECTIONS IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK HELD ON TUESDAY, JANUARY 20, 2015 AT 1:30 P.M. 42 BROADWAY, 6<sup>th</sup> FLOOR, COMMISSIONERS' HEARING ROOM NEW YORK, NY 10004

PRESENT: President Michael Michel Secretary Bianka Perez

Commissioners Jose Miguel Araujo, Ronald Castorina, John Flateau, Maria R. Guastella, Michael Rendino, Alan Schulkin, Simon Shamoun, Frederic M. Umane

Michael J. Ryan, Executive Director Dawn Sandow, Deputy Executive Director Pamela Perkins, Administrative Manager Raphael Savino, Deputy General Counsel Valerie Vazquez, Director, Communications & Public Affairs Nina M. Crispino, Director, Personnel Kenneth Moltner, Counsel to the Commissioners Steven B. Denkberg, Counsel to the Commissioners

GUEST: Kate Doran, LWV Michael Benjamin John D. Smith K. Loving, CFB Anna-Maria Thomas Peggy Farken, Citizens Union Timothy McCormic, Citizens Union Laurie Wen, City Council Alan Flacks, Member of NY County Democratic Committee

President Michel called the meeting to order at 1:32 P.M.

Commissioner Umane moved to adopt the revised minutes for the January 6, 2015 meeting. Commissioner Araujo seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Mr. Ryan reported on Marie Lynch V. New York City Board of Elections (CV-13-4499(FB). The matter concerned a former Queens County employee, and the trial by jury was concluded last week. It was ordered and adjudged that the Plaintiff shall recover nothing from the Defendants, and the Complaint was dismissed in it's entirety. A copy of the Judgment is printed on the back of the agenda. Mr. Ryan commended Christopher Bouriat and David Mou, the counsels from the New York City Law Department, who represented the Board. A letter commending these counsels will be prepared and signed by the President and Secretary, and then forwarded to New York City Corporation Counsel Zachary Carter.

Mr. Ryan requested for the Commissioners to designate the Committee Members for 2015. The designations follow:

- 1) <u>Executive</u> President Michel & Secretary Perez
- 2) Budget and Finance Commissioners Umane & Flateau
- <u>Communications</u>, <u>Voter Registration and Outreach</u> –
  Commissioners Rendino, Flateau, Shamoun, & Schulkin

- <u>Management Information Systems and Services</u> –
  Commissioners Shamoun & Flateau
- 5) <u>Legislative Affairs</u> Commissioners Perez, Castorina, Schulkin,
  & Umane
- 6) <u>Personnel</u> Commissioners Araujo, Michel, Rendino, & Perez
- 7) <u>Ballot Layout Committee</u> Commissioners Araujo, Michel, Guastella, & Castorina

A Committee makes recommendations to the full Board, and all Commissioners are welcome to attend Committee meetings. Mr. Ryan noted that Committee Meetings are open to the public as well, and sufficient notice is posted on the Board's website. Commissioner Araujo moved to adopt the designation of Committee Members for 2015. Commissioner Flateau seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Mr. Ryan presented the draft Independent Nominating Petition Rules for the 2015 Special Elections. Copies of the proposed changes were previously circulated to the Commissioners. Commissioner Umane moved to adopt the revised Independent Nominating Petition Rules for the 2015 Special Elections, and to confirm that copies of the miscellaneous sample documents remain in the Petition Rules packet. Commissioner Flateau seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Commissioner Shamoun requested to discuss a personnel matter in Executive Session.

President Michel moved to convene Executive Session for purposes of litigation and personnel. Commissioner Araujo seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Following Executive Session, the public meeting resumed and Mr. Ryan reported the following actions taken in Executive Session:

- The Commissioners unanimously granted 70 hours of discretionary time to Luann Kubler, a Clerk in the Brooklyn Office, effective January 19, 2015, pursuant to the Rules applicable to employees in excess of 10 years of employment;
- II. There is an issue presently pending before the Office of Labor Relations (OLR) with respect to a collective bargaining matter concerning time and leave of employees. There was an agreement reached in the contract and there will be a published public document. The Commissioners unanimously granted

4

Executive Management the discretion to settle the matter in accordance with the terms and conditions that will be ultimately set forth by OLR and in agreement with the Communications Workers of America Union.

Commissioner Umane moved to adjourn the meeting. President Michel seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

The next stated meeting of the Commissioners will be held on Tuesday, February 3, 2015 at 1:30 P.M.