Approved # 3177

MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF ELECTIONS IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK HELD ON TUESDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2014 AT 1:30 P.M. 42 BROADWAY, 6th FLOOR, COMMISSIONERS' HEARING ROOM NEW YORK, NY 10004

PRESENT:	President Jose Miguel Araujo
	Secretary Michael Michel

Commissioners John Flateau, Bianka Perez, Alan Schulkin, Simon Shamoun

Michael J. Ryan, Executive Director Dawn Sandow, Deputy Executive Director Pamela Perkins, Administrative Manager Steven H. Richman, General Counsel Raphael Savino, Deputy General Counsel Nina M. Crispino, Director, Personnel Kenneth Moltner, Counsel to the Commissioners Steven B. Denkberg, Counsel to the Commissioners

GUEST: Kate Doran, LWV John D. Smith Katharine Loving, CFB Alan Flacks, Member of NY County Democratic Committee Peggy Farber, Citizens Union Cathy Gray Eddie Cuesta, Domincanos USA D. Guellia, Domincanos USA

President Araujo called the meeting to order at 1:30 P.M.

As per the Commissioners' direction last week, Mr. Ryan reached out to the Assembly Standing Committee on Election Law concerning their Public Hearing on Friday, December 12, 2014. The Public Hearing concerns the newly established compliance unit within the New York State Board of Elections. Mr. Ryan recalled that he questioned what role the City Board would have on this unit, and he is still awaiting clarification from the Committee. Mr. Ryan will report to the Commissioners once he receives the information.

President Araujo recognized John D. Smith, a member of the public, who inquired about over votes.

President Araujo recognized Alan Flacks, a member of the public, who spoke about unattributable write-in votes.

President Araujo moved to convene an Executive Session for purposes of personnel. The motion was seconded, and unanimously adopted.

Following Executive Session, the public meeting resumed and President Araujo reported the following actions taken in Executive Session:

2

- The Commissioners approved the reduced temporary staff allocation for the 2015 election cycle for the Borough Offices. The Executive Office temporary staff allocation shall remain at fifty (50) – ten (10) temporary staff members per county;
- II. There will be no Commissioners' Meeting on Tuesday, December 9, 2014.

Commissioner Perez moved to adjourn the meeting. President Araujo seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

The next stated meeting of the Commissioners will be held on Tuesday, December 16, 2014 at 1:30 P.M. unless otherwise posted on the Board's website.