## MEETING OF THE COMMISSIONERS OF ELECTIONS IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK HELD ON TUESDAY, JUNE 18, 2013 AT 1:30 P.M.

42 BROADWAY, 6<sup>th</sup> FLOOR, COMMISSIONERS' HEARING ROOM NEW YORK, NY 10004

\_\_\_\_\_

PRESENT: President Frederic M. Umane

Secretary Gregory C. Soumas

Commissioners Jose Araujo, Julie Dent, Michael Michel, Simon Shamoun, J.P. Sipp

Dorothy Delayo, Director, Personnel
John Ward, Finance Officer
Valerie Vazquez, Director, Communications & Public Affairs
Thomas Sattie, Associate Staff Analyst, Ballot Management
Giacomo Kmet, Temporary Contract Attorney, OGC
Anibal Luque, Temporary Contract Attorney, OGC
Matthew Bobrow, Law Student Intern, OGC
Alan Quigley, Law Student Intern, OGC
Kenneth Moltner, Counsel to the Commissioners
Steven B. Denkberg, Counsel to the Commissioners

GUEST: Kate Doran, LWV

Monica Bartley, CIDNY

J. Melendez, NY Daily News

Max Sarinsky, Campaign Finance Board

Eva Pethanas, for Gale A. Brewer

B. Kearney, DOI John D. Smith

K. Loving, CFB

Pat McClellan, for Assembly Member Brian Kavanagh

Chester Saria, Gotham Gazette

Daniel Stein-Sayles, Gotham Gazette

Rachel Fauss, Citizens Union

Jamie Moon, Citizens Union Erik Dobosh, Citizens Union Jihoon Chang, Citizens Union Artyov Matasov, Council David Seitzer, Council Cathy Gray Michael Benjamin John Phillips, for Kavanagh Bill Johnert

President Umane called the meeting to order at 1:36 P.M.

President Umane announced that many staff members are not present because they are attending the Annual Election Commissioners' Association of the State of New York Conference.

Commissioner Araujo moved to adopt the minutes of the May 28, 2013 and June 11, 2013 meetings. Secretary Soumas seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Mr. Sattie provided an overview of the Ballot Design Meeting which was held on Thursday, June 13, 2013. In attendance were Thomas Sattie, John Naudus, David Murillo, Debra Leible, Stephen Thompson, and representatives from various good government groups and elected official

offices. The meeting group reviewed a mock ballot which incorporated the group's suggestions that were presented at their prior meeting. Instructions were moved to the front of the mock ballot along with Election Districts and Assembly Districts which made it a two (2) page ballot. The group discussed the difficulties of a two (2) page ballot and they agreed to create a different mock ballot. Mr. Sattie reported that Mr. Murillo made additional changes to the mock ballot. The changes follow:

- An image of a hand marking an oval with a writing instrument was added next to the "Mark your oval completely" instructions on the top left corner of the ballot;
- Thicker lines were added around the Public Office titles which differentiate them from the candidates' names.

Mr. Sattie confirmed that the font type and size are the same as last year's ballot. He noted that every election is different and the Board will not know the ballot layout until they know who the candidates are. The meeting group recommended reviewing the ballot layout with the candidates after the petition filing cycle. The mock ballot was not reviewed by Executive Management or the Office of the General Counsel yet. Copies of the mock ballot were submitted to the Commissioners for their review and suggestions to be discussed at a later date.

Mr. Ward presented the Vacancy Report dated June 18, 2013. A copy of the report is in the agenda. Secretary Soumas moved to elevate five (5) Temporary Clerks in the Manhattan Office to permanent positions filling the current vacancies, effective today. The information follows:

- Donna Ellerby will fill the vacancy created by Sheryl Logan at the outgoing salary;
- Rennie Hill will fill the vacancy created by Ishmael Cleare's departure at the outgoing salary;
- Latrice Jones will fill the vacancy created by Alan Chin's departure at the outgoing salary;
- Abigail McGloster will fill the vacancy created by McClinton Irby's departure at the outgoing salary;
- Michael Green will fill the vacancy created by Miriam Colden's departure at the outgoing salary.

President Umane seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

President Umane moved to convene an Executive Session for purposes of personnel. Secretary Soumas seconded the motion, which was unanimously adopted.

Following Executive Session, the open public meeting resumed and President Umane announced the action that was taken in Executive Session:

> The Commissioners voted to modify the Board's time and attendance policies by rescinding the Bank Time provision, effective July 1, 2013.

President Umane moved to adjourn the meeting which was unanimously adopted.

The next stated meeting of the Commissioners is scheduled for Tuesday, June 25, 2013 at 1:30 P.M.